Digital Blurring

The topic focus for this week was on digital blurring. On initial exposure to the topic, I had never heard the term before. I now currently have an understanding of the concept as the skills and acts we utilise in the online world being transferred into everyday life (Howell, 2014).

I see the occurrence of digital blurring as having the potential to improve learning experiences. Examples of these improvements can be seen in the engagement of learners through the inclusion of games and videos, as well as having the opportunity to develop physical skills such as hand-eye coordination and fine motor skills (Howell, 2014).

Gaining an understanding of how digital blurring can be brought into the classroom and the impact it can have, I definitely approached this week’s discussion board task with an open and inquisitive mind. The task was to create a video game using software called ‘Sploder’. I found this task very frustrating. I had never attempted a task such as this before and had to begin by conducting a lot of research and readings on how to do this. It took me several hours of fiddling to begin creating my game. Once I had completed my game, I stepped away from my computer and as a result lost all my work. As I had completed this prior, it was slightly quicker to recreate however still very frustrated due to my lack of understanding.

With the amount of struggle I was presented with in the creation of this game, I was able to empathise with those that are a part of the digital divide and created awareness in myself of the importance of teacher understanding on the various kinds of technology. As I was unsure of the creation or purpose of Sploder, I would be very hesitant in using it in the classroom. It wasn’t until after continual persistence with the program did I gain a more comprehensive understanding of how to incorporate it in the classroom. My game was very simple due to the aforementioned lack of understanding or experience with the game, so the benefits it could bring to the classroom would therefore be reduced.

One way I believe to address this lack of understanding in the classroom is to allow the ‘experts’ in this situation do the leading. In the instance of video games, this would be the students.. “This can be empowering and exciting for both students and teachers… by allowing students to provide input in constructing activities, you will create a high level of engagement and commitment to learning” (Harvey, 2014).

Below is the link to sploder

http://www.sploder.com/?s=d004c7dl

References

Harvey, B (2014). Bridging the digital divide in classrooms. Retrieved October 15, 2014 from http://www.edweek.org/tm/articles/2014/07/02/ctq-harvey-digital.html

Howell, J. (2014), Living and learning in thedigital world Mod 02 04 week 7 [ilecture]. Retrieved from https://echo.ilecture.curtin.edu.au:8443/ess/echo/presentation/9d8a1cd3-f679-4184-8791-6765f6454274

Leave a Reply

